Detached garage quotes across Calgary Serving Calgary, Airdrie, Cochrane, Okotoks & area (403) 555-0162
Back Lane Garage Co Detached Garage Quotes Across Calgary
Our Services

Garage Packages in Calgary: What the Starting Price Covers

Fixed-spec detached garage packages from independent Calgary builders, with each published price attributed and the usual exclusions spelled out. Line two packages up item by item before you sign anything.

Call Now — (403) 555-0162 Get a Written Quote
Garage Packages in Calgary: What the Starting Price Covers

Garage packages in Calgary are fixed-spec detached garages that a builder sells at a published starting price: a slab, framing, siding, shingles, an overhead door and a basic electrical subpanel in a set size. Sizes run from a single around 14 x 20 through the 20 x 20, 22 x 22 and 24 x 24 doubles up to a triple. Back Lane Garage Co is advertising, not a builder. The independent garage builder who quotes your job signs the contract with you and applies for the permits.

The advertised price is only the start of a comparison. Two packages a few thousand dollars apart on the page can differ in wall height, electrical capacity, door size, and whether permits and GST are in the number. This page shows what Calgary builders publish, what 'starting from' tends to leave out, and how to line two packages up row by row. To get two or three comparable written quotes, call (403) 555-0162.

What We Handle

What's Included in Every Visit

Fixed sizes, named prices

Venkor Group, Corsac Construction and Calgary Garage Builders Ltd each publish set sizes and starting prices. Every figure on this page is attributed to the firm that advertises it.

Read the inclusions, not the headline

Published packages typically cover a slab, stud framing, vinyl siding, shingles, an overhead door and a subpanel. Wall height, door size and amperage differ from firm to firm.

A list of what 'starting from' leaves out

Upgrades, site prep, demolition of an old garage, electrical capacity, heat and GST are where a starting price drifts. Published figures are attached wherever they exist.

Permits kept separate

The City of Calgary lists a 2026 building permit fee of $333.84 for a new garage. Some builders fold permits into the package and some do not, so the quote has to say.

A line-by-line comparison method

Footprint, wall height, slab, door, electrical, permits, GST and payment terms go on one sheet. Two quotes are comparable only when every row matches.

Where a package stops fitting

Slabs over 592 sq ft, walls over 3 m to the truss and oversized doors push a job off the standard package. You get the thresholds, so you know before you ask.

Which garage packages Calgary builders publish

The prices below are what each builder advertises on its own site, read on 30 September 2026. They are not quotes from this site and not a market average. Inclusions differ by firm, and GST treatment is noted because it changes the comparison.

  • Venkor Group (GST not stated): single 14 x 20 at $20,861; 20 x 20 at $25,190; 22 x 22 at $30,126; 24 x 24 at $34,988; triple 30 x 24 at $48,606. Its fully custom option reads 'Starting from' $28,420.
  • Corsac Construction (plus GST): single 12 x 20 at $18,500; 20 x 20 at $25,900; 22 x 22 at $27,500; 24 x 24 at $29,900; triple 36 x 20 at $49,000.
  • Calgary Garage Builders Ltd (plus GST): 20 x 20 at $25,500; 22 x 22 at $27,700; 24 x 24 at $31,995.
  • Hammerhead Construction (GST not stated) writes that a well-built double in most cases costs between $32,000 and $38,000, drive-in ready from permit to final inspection.

The inclusions behind those numbers are not the same. Venkor lists 9.5 ft walls, a 240V 30A subpanel, and City permits and design drawings in the quote. Corsac lists 8 ft walls and 40-amp service with a dedicated subpanel. Calgary Garage Builders Ltd lists a 16 x 7 overhead door and 15 AMP service. A 22 x 22 from one of them is not the same product as a 22 x 22 from another.

Read the quote, not the web page. On some builders' own sites a headline card is lower than the same builder's size table, and one firm's two pricing pages differ by $4,000 per size. Ask for the price in writing for the exact spec you want. For the wider cost picture, including finished and heated garages, see garage building cost in Calgary.

What 'starting from' usually leaves out

A starting price describes the standard build on an easy site. Anything outside that build is priced separately, and most real projects have a few of these. Ask each builder to mark every line below as included, extra or not applicable.

  • Site prep and slab. Venkor's package slab is 4 inches with a 6 inch curb wall, and Corsac's is a 4 to 5 inch pad with a 6 inch curb. Patriarch Construction's 2026 guide puts most Calgary pads at $4,500 to $8,000 depending on size, thickness, base prep and access. Access and site conditions are among the things Patriarch says move the price.
  • Demolition of an old garage. Corsac advertises removal of an existing detached garage starting at $17.50 per sq ft, which works out to $7,000 for a 20 x 20 at that rate. The City says no separate demolition permit is needed when the old garage is replaced by a new one, because the demolition is covered in the new permit. See replacing an old garage.
  • Electrical capacity. Packages carry 15 AMP, 40-amp or 240V 30A service depending on the firm. Calgary Garage Builders Ltd lists 60 AMP at plus $2,000 plus GST. PCND, a cost guide, puts a 240V outlet, subpanel or extra lighting at $2,000 to $6,000. The City requires an electrical permit on every new garage.
  • Doors. Calgary Garage Builders Ltd lists a 16 x 7 door. Hammerhead includes a 16 x 8 door with operator. Prime Garage Doors Calgary lists installed insulated steel doubles at $2,099 to $3,399. Corsac lists 18 x 7 and 18 x 8 insulated doors and a 9 ft ceiling as add-ons, with no price.
  • Insulation, drywall and heat. PCND puts insulating and drywalling a double at roughly $6,000 to $15,000 and a heater at $2,500 to $6,000. Corsac advertises a gas heater package at $6,600. Separately, the City requires 5/8 inch Type X drywall on interior walls within 0.6 m of a side property line.
  • Permits, fees and GST. The City's 2026 building permit for a new garage is $333.84, and Venkor says permits are in its quote. Corsac includes the electrical permit and inspection. Several builders add GST on top.

How to compare two garage packages line by line

Take the two packages you like and put them on one sheet. The cheaper one on the website is often the one with fewer rows filled in. Ask both builders to fill the same rows in writing, at the same footprint.

  • Footprint and wall height. Nominal size, plus wall height. The City asks for a development permit when the height from the parking surface to where the wall meets the truss is over 3 m (9 ft 10 in), so ask the builder to confirm where the design lands.
  • Slab. Thickness, curb wall, base preparation, and whether it is engineered. A slab over 55 m² (592 sq ft) needs an engineered design unless it sits on a foundation 1.2 m below grade.
  • Door and opener. Size, insulation value, and whether an opener is in or out.
  • Electrical. Amperage, subpanel, number of outlets and lights, and whether the electrical permit and inspection are included.
  • Permits and drawings. Which permits the builder applies for, who pays the City fees, and whether design drawings are part of the price.
  • GST. Included or plus GST. A $27,500 plus GST figure and a $30,126 figure with no GST statement cannot be compared until you know.
  • Payment terms and dates. Service Alberta's contract checklist includes the itemized prices, total, terms of payment and commencement and completion dates. Ask for them in writing.

If a builder takes money before the work is done, Service Alberta says a prepaid contracting licence may be needed, and you can check it with the province's 'Find out if a business is licensed' search. A licence listing is not an endorsement of the firm or a guarantee of quality. Permit questions go to the City of Calgary, or your own town or county, not to the builder's marketing page.

When a package stops making sense and custom is the better quote

A package is built around a size that fits under the City's common thresholds. A 24 x 24 is 576 sq ft, just under the 592 sq ft (55 m²) point where the City requires an engineered slab. The Venkor 30 x 24 and Corsac 36 x 20 triples are both 720 sq ft, which is over it, and Corsac's triple line lists an engineered pad and stamped structural drawings. Past that point the price includes engineering the standard build did not need.

Height and size bring in a development permit. The City lists a garage higher than 4.6 m, a wall-to-truss height over 3 m, a garage over 75 m² (807 sq ft), or one larger than the house as triggers. The City's development permit fee is $550, with a stated 10 to 12 weeks, and the timeline is not a guarantee. Oversized and tall-door garages are the same story: PCND's cost guide puts oversized, triple or tall-door garages at $90,000 to $140,000 plus, and no Calgary package price for an RV garage turned up in published sources.

Here is a simple pricing test. Venkor's fully custom option reads 'Starting from' $28,420, while its 24 x 24 package is $34,988. Those are starting points, not quotes, but they show that a package label does not guarantee the lowest price. When your list of extras covers a taller door, 60-amp service, heat, insulation and a demolition, ask for a custom quote built from your spec beside the package quote and compare the totals. Start at custom garages or detached garages.

On an acreage, Rocky View County offers pre-engineered slab-on-grade designs for eligible single-storey detached garages, so see Rocky View County garage builders and confirm eligibility with the County. To get two or three comparable written quotes before the spring rush, call (403) 555-0162.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a garage package cost in Calgary?

Builders advertise different starting points. Venkor Group lists a 20 x 20 at $25,190 and a 24 x 24 at $34,988 (GST not stated), while Corsac Construction lists a 20 x 20 at $25,900 plus GST and a 24 x 24 at $29,900 plus GST. Those are what each builder advertises, not quotes from this site, and their inclusions differ. Turnkey cost guides that include finishes and heat run higher, for example PCND's $55,000 to $90,000 for a double.

What does a 'starting from' garage price leave out?

Usually upgrades such as more electrical capacity (Calgary Garage Builders Ltd lists 60 AMP at plus $2,000 plus GST), site prep, demolition of an old garage (Corsac advertises removal starting at $17.50 per sq ft), heat and insulation, and GST where the builder quotes it separately. Ask each builder to mark every item as included or extra in writing.

Are permits included in a garage package?

It depends on the builder. Venkor Group says City permits and design drawings are in its quote, and Corsac says the electrical permit and inspection are included on its detached garages. The City of Calgary's 2026 building permit fee for a new garage is $333.84, with approximately 7 days of review, and a separate electrical permit is always needed. Confirm permit requirements with the City of Calgary or your own town.

When is a custom garage better than a package?

Usually when the spec leaves the package. A slab over 592 sq ft (55 m²) needs an engineered design unless it sits on a foundation 1.2 m below grade. A garage over 75 m² (807 sq ft), higher than 4.6 m, or with a wall-to-truss height over 3 m needs a development permit, which the City lists at $550 and 10 to 12 weeks. Ask for a custom quote next to the package quote and compare totals.

How long does a package garage take to build?

The City lists approximately 7 days to review a new garage building permit, or 10 to 12 weeks if a development permit is needed, with no guarantee. After permits, Sahi Contracting says most builds take 3 to 5 weeks and Falcon Contracting says 4 to 8 weeks from excavation to inspection. Hammerhead notes that winter concrete pours need heat, which can add cost, and that summer is busier, so winter is a good time to collect quotes.

Planning a Garage in Calgary? Call and Talk It Through.

Written quotes from independent Calgary garage builders.

Call Now — (403) 555-0162 Get a Quote