Detached garage quotes across Calgary Serving Calgary, Airdrie, Cochrane, Okotoks & area (403) 555-0162
Back Lane Garage Co Detached Garage Quotes Across Calgary
Cost Guide

Detached Garage Cost in Calgary: What Builders Advertise

There is no single average. Package prices and finished-garage cost guides sit tens of thousands of dollars apart, and every figure below names the firm that published it.

Call Now — (403) 555-0162 Get a Written Quote
Detached Garage Cost in Calgary: What Builders Advertise

Search for a detached garage cost in Calgary and you will find starting prices near $18,500 next to cost guides that run past $90,000 for a double. Both can be honest. One describes a basic wood-frame package, the other a finished, heated garage with a bigger slab and better doors.

Back Lane Garage Co is an advertising site. It does not build garages, write quotes or hold a licence, so none of these numbers is our price. Each one is what a named builder, contractor or the City of Calgary publishes, read on 30 September 2026. Call (403) 555-0162 now and ask to be put in touch with independent builders who will quote your lot in writing.

2026 Price Ranges

Service Typical Range Notes
Single garage package $18,500 + GST to $20,861 Corsac 12 x 20 is $18,500 + GST. Venkor 14 x 20 is $20,861, GST not stated.
Double garage package, 20 x 20 to 24 x 24 $25,190 to $34,988 Corsac $25,900 to $29,900 + GST. Calgary Garage Builders Ltd $25,500 to $31,995 + GST. Venkor $25,190 to $34,988, GST not stated.
Triple garage package $48,606 to $49,000 Venkor 30 x 24 is $48,606, GST not stated. Corsac 36 x 20 is $49,000 + GST.
Finished double, turnkey cost guide $55,000 to $90,000 Precision Construction & Decora, typical market range, not a fixed price. Oversized or triple: $90,000 to $140,000+.
Insulate, drywall and heat a double $6,000 to $15,000, plus $2,500 to $6,000 heater PCND ranges. Corsac advertises a gas heater package at $6,600, including the line, trenching and permitting.
Concrete pad $4,500 to $8,000 Patriarch Construction. Varies with size, thickness, base prep and access.
Insulated double overhead door, installed $2,099 to $3,399 Prime Garage Doors, insulated steel. Carriage-house styles run higher. GST not stated.
City of Calgary permits, 2026 $333.84 building, $116.50 homeowner electrical A development permit, only if a relaxation is needed, is $550. Confirm with the City.

These are published figures from the sources named above, not our quotes. Your price comes from a builder's written quote for your lot.

Why package prices and finished prices are so far apart

Package prices sit at the low end. Corsac Construction advertises a 20 x 20 at $25,900 plus GST, Calgary Garage Builders Ltd a 20 x 20 at $25,500 plus GST, and Venkor Group a 20 x 20 at $25,190 with GST not stated. They cover a slab, framing, siding, shingles, an overhead door and basic electrical.

Finished prices sit at the high end. Precision Construction & Decora publishes typical market ranges, not fixed prices, of $35,000 to $55,000 for a single, $55,000 to $90,000 for a double, and $90,000 to $140,000 or more for an oversized or triple garage. Those cost-guide ranges sit well above package prices because they describe a more finished garage.

Hammerhead Construction falls between the two, writing that a well-built double in most cases costs $32,000 to $38,000 (GST not stated). Do not average these numbers into one figure. Start from the garage you actually want, then read the garage packages page for what each package includes.

What pushes a quote up

Most of the gap between a package and a finished garage comes from a short list of items. Each one below is a published figure from a named firm.

  • Size. Corsac's doubles run from $25,900 (20 x 20) to $29,900 (24 x 24) plus GST. Venkor's 24 x 24 is $34,988.
  • The slab. The City says a slab bigger than 55 m² (592 sq. ft.) without a foundation 1.2 m below grade needs a slab designed by a professional engineer. Patriarch Construction puts most pads at $4,500 to $8,000.
  • Insulation and heat. PCND adds roughly $6,000 to $15,000 for insulating and drywalling a double, and $2,500 to $6,000 for a heater.
  • Doors. Prime Garage Doors lists an installed insulated double door at $2,099 to $3,399, and carriage-house styles at $3,000 to $4,200.
  • Electrical. Falcon Contracting puts basic service at $800 to $1,500. PCND says a 240V outlet, sub-panel or extra lighting can run $2,000 to $6,000.
  • The site. BVM Builders advertises a hillside double at $70,000 to $110,000 unheated, against $62,000 to $90,000 for its standard 22 x 24 double.
  • Winter concrete. Hammerhead says a cold-weather pour needs heat, which can add to the cost.

Replacing an old garage adds a line of its own. Corsac's standard price to remove a detached garage starts at $17.50 per sq. ft., which works out to about $7,000 for a 400 sq. ft. garage. The City says a demolition permit is not required in most cases for a detached residential garage, but confirm with the City for yours. See garage replacement for the rest.

What the City charges, and how long it takes

City of Calgary 2026 fees for a new detached garage are $333.84 for the building permit and $116.50 for a homeowner electrical permit. A development permit is only needed when the design needs a relaxation of the Land Use Bylaw, and it costs $550. If work starts before a permit is issued, the City charges double the permit fee.

The City's stated timing is approximately 7 days for a building permit and 10 to 12 weeks when a development permit is needed. It adds that these are not guarantees and depend on volumes and on how complete your application is. A garage taller than 4.6 m, bigger than 75 m² (807 sq. ft.), or bigger than the house triggers a development permit, so size and height choices can move both the fee and the wait.

Some builders say permits are in their price: Venkor says City permits and design drawings are included, and Corsac says its garage electrical permit and inspection are included. Others do not say. If a hired contractor does the work, the contractor applies for the permit, so ask each builder who pays for what. Always confirm current fees and rules with the City.

How to compare quotes, and why to ask early

Ask each builder to price the same garage: same size, wall height, slab, door, electrical and finish. Venkor's package lists 9.5 ft walls and Corsac's lists 8 ft walls, so two 22 x 22 prices are not the same garage. Also ask whether GST is in or out, because Corsac and Calgary Garage Builders Ltd quote plus GST and Venkor does not say.

Timing matters too. Sahi Contracting says most construction is completed in 3 to 5 weeks once permits are in hand, and Falcon Contracting says 4 to 8 weeks from excavation to inspection. Hammerhead notes that more projects are completed in the summer, so demand for labour can be higher then. Gathering two or three written quotes in winter leaves room to compare them before the spring rush.

If a builder wants deposits or progress payments before the work is finished, the City says it may need a provincial licence. You can check a business in Service Alberta's licensed business search. For a first step, see detached garages or custom and oversized garages, or call (403) 555-0162 now to be put in touch with independent builders. Area pages cover Airdrie, Cochrane, Okotoks, Chestermere and Rocky View County.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a detached garage cost in Calgary?

It depends on what is included, and no single average is reliable. Corsac Construction advertises a 20 x 20 at $25,900 plus GST and Calgary Garage Builders Ltd a 20 x 20 at $25,500 plus GST. Precision Construction & Decora's typical range for a finished double is $55,000 to $90,000. Only a builder's written quote for your lot gives a real number.

Why is a turnkey guide so much higher than a package price?

A package price covers a basic wood-frame garage: slab, framing, siding, shingles, an overhead door and basic electrical. A turnkey cost guide prices a more finished garage, which can mean insulation, drywall, heat, better doors and a larger slab. Precision Construction & Decora adds roughly $6,000 to $15,000 for insulating and drywalling a double, and $2,500 to $6,000 for a heater.

Do advertised garage prices include GST and permits?

It varies by firm. Corsac Construction and Calgary Garage Builders Ltd quote plus GST, while Venkor Group does not state GST. Venkor says City permits and design drawings are included in its quote, and Corsac says its garage electrical permit and inspection are included. Ask each builder in writing what is in and what is out.

What does it cost to heat and insulate a detached garage?

Precision Construction & Decora puts insulating and drywalling a double at roughly $6,000 to $15,000, with a forced-air or radiant tube heater adding $2,500 to $6,000. Corsac advertises a gas heater package at $6,600, which includes the heater, underground line, trenching, permitting and dedicated electrical service. These are published figures, not quotes for your garage.

What are the City of Calgary's fees for a new garage?

The City's 2026 schedule lists $333.84 for a new garage building permit and $116.50 for a homeowner electrical permit. A development permit costs $550 and is only needed if the design requires a relaxation of the Land Use Bylaw. The City gives approximately 7 days for a building permit and 10 to 12 weeks when a development permit is needed, without guarantees. Confirm current fees and rules with the City.

Want a Real Number Instead of a Range?

Written quotes from independent Calgary garage builders.

Call Now — (403) 555-0162 Get a Quote